### BEFORE THE ILLINOIS POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

In the Matter of:	)	
STANDARD FOR THE DISPOSAL OF COAL COMBUSTION RESIDUALS IN SURFACE IMPOUNDMENTS: PROPOSED NEW 35 ILL. ADMIN. CODE 845		R 2020-019 (Rulemaking – Land)

## NOTICE OF ELECTRONIC FILING

To: Attached Service List

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on September 24, 2020, I electronically filed with the Clerk of the Illinois Pollution Control Board ("Board") the **PREFILED ANSWERS OF DULCE ORTIZ**, copies of which are served on you along with this notice.

Dated: September 24, 2020

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Jennifer Cassel
Jennifer Cassel (IL Bar No. 6296047)
Earthjustice
311 S. Wacker Dr., Suite 1400
Chicago, IL 60606
T: (312) 500-2198
jcassel@earthjustice.org

/s/Thomas Cmar

Thomas Cmar (IL Bar No. 6298307)
Earthjustice
3ll S. Wacker Dr., Suite 1400
Chicago, IL 60606
T: (312) 500-2191
tcmar@earthjustice.org

/s/ Mychal Ozaeta Mychal Ozaeta (ARDC No. #6331185) Earthjustice

707 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 4300 Los Angeles, CA 90017 T: (213) 766-1069 mozaeta@earthjustice.org

/s/ Melissa Legge

Melissa Legge (ARDC No. #6334808) Earthjustice 48 Wall Street, 15<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, NY 10005 T: (212) 823-4978 mlegge@earthjustice.org

Attorneys for Prairie Rivers Network

/s/ Faith E. Bugel

Faith E. Bugel 1004 Mohawk Wilmette, IL 60091 T: (312) 282-9119 fbugel@gmail.com

Attorney for Sierra Club

/s/ Kiana Courtney

Kiana Courtney (ARDC No. #6334333) Environmental Law & Policy Center 35 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 1600 Chicago, Illinois 60601 KCourtney@elpc.org

/s/Jeffrey T. Hammons

Jeffrey T. Hammons, (IL Bar No. #6324007) Environmental Law & Policy Center 1440 G Street NW Washington DC, 20005 T: (785) 217-5722 JHammons@elpc.org

Attorneys for Environmental Law & Policy Center

#### BEFORE THE ILLINOIS POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF:	)
STANDARDS FOR THE DISPOSAL OF COAL COMBUSTION RESIDUALS IN SURFACE IMPOUNDMENTS: PROPOSED NEW 35 ILL. ADM. CODE 845	) ) R 20-19 ) (Rulemaking – Land) )
	)

#### PREFILED ANSWERS OF DULCE ORTIZ

### **Questions from CWLP**

1. Were you involved in preparing the exhibit included with your testimony as Attachment 2?

Response: No.

2. Who are the authors and when was the study completed? Why is the exhibit undated?

<u>Response</u>: The authors are Adrian Wilson, Jacqui Patterson, Kim Wasserman, Amanda Starbuck, Annie Sartor, Judy Hatcher, John Fleming, and Katie Fink. I don't know why the exhibit is undated.

3. Are you familiar with the methodology that was used to rank the Environmental Justice impact of facilities?

Response: I am not familiar.

4. Do you agree that these rankings are outdated?

Response: I agree that 2007-2010 might not be representative of current air pollution levels.

5. Can you explain the levels of NOx and SO2 pollution that were used in the formula to reach City Water Light and Power's ranking?

Response: The levels of NOx were 3,531 tons and the levels of SO2 were 8,739 tons.

I want to note that I used this report to highlight the disparities of environmental justice communities, not necessarily to focus on City Water Light and Power's ranking. Again, black and brown people have been disproportionately impacted by coal fired power plants, and I don't want us to lose sight of that.

6. Can you testify whether those levels are representative of levels from the last decade?

Response: No, because I don't know.

## **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

The undersigned, Faith E. Bugel, an attorney, certifies that I have served by email the Clerk and by email the individuals with email addresses named on the Service List provided on the Board's website, available at

https://pcb.illinois.gov/Cases/GetCaseDetailsById?caseId=16858, a true and correct copies of the **PREFILED ANSWERS OF DULCE ORTIZ** before 5 p.m. Central Time on September 24, 2020. The number of pages in the email transmission is 7 pages.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Faith E. Bugel

Faith E. Bugel 1004 Mohawk Wilmette, IL 60091 (312) 282-9119 fbugel@gmail.com

Attorney for Sierra Club

SERVICE LIST		
Don Brown Clerk of the Board Don.brown@illinois.gov Vanessa Horton Vanessa.Horton@illinois.gov Illinois Pollution Control Board James R. Thompson Center Suite 11-500 100 West Randolph Chicago, Illinois 60601	Christine M. Zeivel Christine.Zeivel@illinois.gov Stefanie Diers Stefanie.Diers@illinois.gov Clayton Ankney Clayton.Ankney@illinois.gov Illinois Environmental Protection Agency 1021 North Grand Avenue East P.O. Box 19276 Springfield, IL 62794-9276	
Virginia I. Yang - Deputy Counsel virginia.yang@illinois.gov Nick San Diego - Staff Attorney nick.sandiego@illinois.gov Robert G. Mool bob.mool@illinois.gov Paul Mauer - Senior Dam Safety Eng. Paul.Mauer@illinois.gov Renee Snow - General Counsel renee.snow@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Natural Resources One Natural Resources Way Springfield, IL 62702-1271	Matthew J. Dunn, Chief mdunn@atg.state.il.us Stephen Sylvester Sr. Asst. Attorney General ssylvester@atg.state.il.us Andrew Armstrong, Chief aarmstrong@atg.state.il.us Kathryn A. Pamenter KPamenter@atg.state.il.us 69 West Washington Street, Suite 1800 Chicago, IL 60602	
Deborah Williams Regulatory Affairs Director  Deborah.Williams@cwlp.com City of Springfield Office of Utilities 800 E. Monroe, 4th Floor Municipal Building East	Kim Knowles  Kknowles@prairierivers.org  Andrew Rehn  Arehn@prairierivers.org  1902 Fox Dr., Ste. 6  Champaign, IL 61820	
Faith Bugel fbugel@gmail.com 1004 Mohawk Wilmette, IL 60091	Jeffrey Hammons Jhammons@elpc.org Kiana Courtney KCourtney@elpc.org Environmental Law & Policy Center 35 E. Wacker Dr., Ste. 1600 Chicago, IL 60601	

Keith Harley  kharley@kentlaw.edu  Daryl Grable  dgrable@clclaw.org  Chicago Legal Clinic, Inc.  211 W. Wacker, Suite 750  Chicago, IL 60606  Mark A. Bilut  Mbilut@mwe.com  McDermott, Will & Emery	Michael Smallwood  Msmallwood@ameren.com  1901 Choteau Ave. St. Louis, MO 63103  Abel Russ, Attorney  aruss@environmentalintegrity.org Environmental Integrity Project
227 W. Monroe Street Chicago, IL 60606-5096	1000 Vermont, Ave NW, Ste. 1100 Washington, DC 20005
Susan M. Franzetti Sf@nijmanfranzetti.com Kristen Laughridge Gale kg@nijmanfranzetti.com Vincent R. Angermeier va@nijmanfranzetti.com Nijman Franzetti LLP 10 S. Lasalle St., Ste. 3600 Chicago, IL 60603	Alec M Davis, Executive Director adavis@ierg.org Kelly Thompson kthompson@ierg.org IERG 215 E. Adams St. Springfield, IL 62701
Walter Stone, Vice President  Walter.stone@nrg.com  NRG Energy, Inc. 8301 Professional Place, Suite 230  Landover, MD 20785	Cynthia Skrukrud  Cynthia.Skrukrud@sierraclub.org  Jack Darin  Jack.Darin@sierraclub.org  Christine Nannicelli  christine.nannicelli@sierraclub.org  Sierra Club  70 E. Lake Street, Ste. 1500  Chicago, IL 60601-7447
Stephen J. Bonebrake sbonebrake@schiffhardin.com Joshua R. More jmore@schiffhardin.com Ryan C. Granholm rgranholm@schiffhardin.com Schiff Hardin, LLP 233 S. Wacker Dr., Ste. 7100 Chicago, IL 60606-6473	Jennifer M. Martin  Jennifer.Martin@heplerbroom.com  jmartin@heplerbroom.com  Melissa Brown  Melissa.Brown@heplerbroom.com  HeplerBroom LLC  4340 Acer Grove Drive  Springfield, IL 62711

Alisha Anker, Vice President, Regulatory & Market Affairs  aanker@ppi.coop Prairie Power Inc. 3130 Pleasant Run Springfield, IL 62711	Chris Newman  newman.christopherm@epa.gov  Jessica Schumaker  Schumacher.Jessica@epa.gov  U.S. EPA, Region 5  77 West Jackson Blvd.  Chicago, IL 60604-3590
Gibson, Dunn, & Crutcher, LLP Michael L. Raiff mraiff@gibsondunn.com 2001 Ross Avenue Suite 2100 Dallas, TX 75201	Earthjustice Jennifer Cassel jcassel@earthjustice.org Thomas Cmar tcmar@earthjustice.org Melissa Legge mlegge@earthjustice.org Mychal Ozaeta mozaeta@earthjustice.org 311 S. Wacker Drive Suite 1400 Chicago, IL 60606
Brown, Hay, & Stephens, LLP Claire A. Manning cmanning@bhslaw.com Anthony D. Schuering aschuering@bhslaw.com 205 S. Fifth Street, Suite 700 Springfield, IL 62705	